Sick of losing past versions of After Effects on your machine? Keep them installed with this After Effects quick tip.

There’s a good chance that, by now, you have updated from the Creative Suite to the Creative Cloud — and rightfully so. With ‘free’ updates and the entire range of creative applications, Creative Cloud  outmatches every other collection of software. However, one problem that creative professionals have begun to notice is that when they update to a new version of their programs they lose the previous version.

For the average videographer, this is only a minor issue, but if you do a lot of work with After Effects templates or the Creative Suite, it can be quite annoying. However, there is a simple workaround that ensures that you don’t lose your previous versions. Let’s take a look at how it’s done:

Step 1: Close Out After Effects

Preserve Previous Versions of After Effects When Updating the Creative Cloud — Close After Effects

In order to update any of the applications in the Creative Suite, you will need to close out any version of that software running on your machine. To do this simply close out After Effects.

Step 2: Hit Advanced Options

Preserve Previous Versions of After Effects When Updating the Creative Cloud — Advanced Options

Hit the Update button under After Effects on the Creative Cloud dropdown menu. Before you confirm the update, hit the Advanced Options button.

Step 3: Deselect “Remove Old Versions”

Preserve Previous Versions of After Effects When Updating the Creative Cloud — Deselect

Under the Advanced Options menu, simply deselect Remove Old Versions. This will ensure that After Effects will not be uninstalled from your machine.

That’s all there is to it! If you continue to perform this step each time you update, you will have a collection of various After Effects instances on your machine.


Want even more After Effects quick tips? Check out the rest of the blog here on Rocketstock.